I.T. Vibe
Latest Business Communications Gaming General Security Technology Virus  
   Member Services
Login
Register
   General Services
Contact Us
Merchandise
Toolbar
RSS Feeds
Other Formats
   Site Search
 
Advanced Search
   News Alerts
Enter your email address to receive news alerts
 
View Privacy Policy
Unsubscribe
   Information
Latest Virus Alerts
Internet Threat Level
Internet Traffic Report
   Opinion Poll
Macs - Love Them or Hate Them? Place your votes now.
Love 'em
Hate 'em
Indifferent
Reader Comments: 0
View All Polls
Domain name renewal scam still running
Tuesday, January 20, 2004 at 14:18 by Rich Kavanagh
Back in December, the Federal Trade Commission imposed a ruling stating that a firm called Domain Registry of America were to stop misrepresentation.

Domain Registry of America were using a somewhat underhand tactic in an effort to get sales.

They would send letters to literally thousands of people at a time, warning them that their domain name was due to expire.

The letters themselves are very real, what the Domain Registry of America failed to mention however, was that if you renewed the domain name with them, they would become the new registrant.

This basically means that you could loose control over your domain name.

UK based domain specialists, 123-Reg have warned their customers about the Domain Registry of America. An announcement also made on the 123-Reg website said,

"Subject: IMPORTANT NOTICE FROM HOST EUROPE
Sent on: 2004-01-12 10:33:19 Delete

If you receive E-mails or letters through the post asking you to renew your domain name(s) and it does NOT come on a letterhead paper from 123-reg or Host Europe, please take time to examine its content carefully.


We have been notified that The Domain Registry of America (or DROA) has been sending E mails and writing letters to domain name registrants worldwide misrepresenting themselves as the Registrars or the Host provider or ISP to the domain name. In this communiqué it has been alleged that DROA have been changing the "From:" field to assume the identity of your host provider. Should you engage in this transfer unwittingly there is a high possibility that you will lose control of your domain name until payment is extracted by DROA for its release.

As a market leading host provider, Host Europe takes such matters seriously and will assist the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) and the UK Advertising Watchdog Authority (ASA) to the best of our ability. Please note that EU regulators have now ruled that it is unlawful for companies to send unsolicited direct marketing via E-mails (spam), SMS and fax.

To that end, we would be most grateful if you could kindly forward any such E-mails or letters you may have received from DROA or any other similar communication from other companies to abuse@hosteurope.com for E-mails or to Host Europe Plc, Host Europe House, Abuse Department, Kendal Avenue, London W3 0XA, England.

Best Wishes

The 123-Reg Team
"

It would seem the Domain Registry of America didn't pay a blind bit of attention to Federal Trade Commission.

We here at I.T. Vibe got a letter from Domain Registry of America, sent from an address in South West London, this very morning.
 
Contact Rich Kavanagh, the author of this article View a printer friendly version of this article Email this article to a friend RSS Feeds

Comment # 1 on 08 October 2004 at 13:22 by Rich
We got another one today ! Ironically it was for itvibe.com too. Will the ever learn ?

Comment # 2 on 20 March 2005 at 00:03 by Anonymous
Obviously slaps on the wrist by FTC never seems to deter the stubborn scamsters! FTC always seems to settle for small fines much smaller than the scammer's take from the scam run... why would anyone fear FTC then? :) Received letters for the domains I have. The letters had the address same as one on their website now: Domain Registry of America 2316 Delaware Avenue #266 Buffalo, New York 14216-2687 Ph: (866) 434-0212 FAX: (866) 434-0211 int (1-905-479-2533) support@droa.com sales@droa.com info@droa.com

Comment # 3 on 01 November 2005 at 23:36 by Anonymous
They're still at it - I got one today. It states in bold that it's not a bill, but nowhere does it state that it isn't from your current registrar. Okay, to be fair it may say it in the middle of the tiniest small print you've ever tried to focus on all over the back of the letter ....

Comment # 4 on 01 June 2006 at 10:45 by Anonymous
Still going.. May 2006. Had a letter from them looking very like a bill but careful not to say it was. Reading it from a careful and informed viewpoint I could see it was a transfer request but a lot of people probably get sucked in. Their address was in London.

Comment # 5 on 01 June 2006 at 11:48 by simonVIBE
We have also recived some of these. They are more carefuly worded, but still a scam in our eyes.

Comment # 6 on 24 October 2006 at 19:40 by Anonymous
why not send other spammers their address ? support@droa.comm

Comment # 7 on 05 September 2008 at 15:20 by Anonymous
I have received many of these scams the last couple of months - actually opened a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission again for whatever good that might come of that. Extremely seedy and shady business practices at a minimum!

Your Verification Number:


Please enter your Verification Number: